Summer Stress

clock1I thought I would share with you some tips for managing your “Summer Stress”.   Summer Stress is something many teachers suffer from every year around this time.   Often, we find ourselves busier in the summer than we were during the school year.  I know you’re thinking “how can that be possible?” but it actually makes sense if you are a teacher.  The clock is always ticking away the minutes until summer is over and there never seems to be enough time to squeeze in everything you want to accomplish before the first day of school.  I know I am guilty of neglecting certain things like Dr. appointments, vacations, family obligations, home improvement projects, and more during the school year, during the summer I try to squeeze it all in.  Matters are further complicated when you add your school to-do list into the mix and you’ve got  yourself a nice recipe for STRESS.  

The first thing you can do to help alleviate your Summer Stress is create a schedule for yourself.  It has long been my belief that one of the reasons teachers experience stress in the summer is because we are so used to being on a regimented schedule that we don’t  function well without one.   My summer schedule looks something like this:

7:00-8:00- “Me Time”- My favorite thing to do with Me Time is check my e-mail, read blogs, and visit teacher forums.

8:00-10:00 = Breakfast, shower, dress, house chores like laundry, dishes, and light cleaning.

10:00-12:00 = Errands, I like to get them out of the way before it gets too hot. 

12:00-2:00 = School Time, this is my time to work on anything school related.

2:00-4:00 = Home Time or Reading Time.  This time is reserved for reading for personal or professional reading OR any “home projects” I have neglected during the year such as digital scrapbooking, creating a cookbook of my mother’s recipes,  searching for new ceiling fans on-line, scheduling carpet cleaning appointments etc. 

4:00-6:00 = Cleaning and Cooking Time, YUCK!  My two least favorite things!  I usually prepare a meal and while it’s cooking I clean one “zone” in the house. 

6:30-9:00 = Personal/Family Time, no school stuff can be done during this time. 

9:00-10:00 Reading Time, more reading for personal enjoyment.  It’s best not to read professional books before bed as it may raise your stress level and cause you to have “schoolmares” which are similar to nightmares only they are about school.

If I don’t have any errands to run on a particular day then I can extend my school time.  This is what works for me and keeps me focused during the summer, you can create your schedule to relfect what works best for you.  If you have children obviously you will need to adjust your schedule according to their activities and needs.

Please share your methods for dealing with Summer Stress in the comments section.

2 Responses

  1. Wow! You actually do school work every day!?! I haven’t touched anything school related yet, but am getting ready to start cracking.

  2. I think this is a great idea and I have tried to impliment it myself many times during the summer or just on days off. I found it hard though to discipline myself to follow it. It’s different when you know in the back of your head that you don’t HAVE to stop at 2:00 but, in school it’s different. You have to get everything in. I just have to get that mentality in my head at home!

Leave a Reply

